Planning Commission

The Clay County Planning Commission is an 11-member board consisting of elected and appointed Clay County residents. The Planning Commission holds public hearings to make decisions on conditional and interim use permit requests. The Planning Commission also makes recommendations to the County Board of Commissioners for platted subdivisions, rezoning and text amendments to the Clay County Development Code.


Meetings are held on the 3rd floor of the Courthouse. Please enter through the main security doors on the east side of the building. The County provides the means for persons to electronically participate in  meetings remotely. Visit for information on how to participate in the meeting remotely.  For questions, please contact the Planning & Zoning office at 218-299-5005.

(dates / deadlines at a glance (PDF))

  • 7 p.m.
  • Third Tuesday of each month
  • Courthouse
    807 11th Street N.
    Moorhead MN 56560

Special meetings are scheduled as necessary. 

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes

Getting on the Agenda

If you need to schedule agenda items or public hearings for an upcoming meeting, please contact Planning and Zoning at 218-299-5005.


The Planning Commission has an 11 person membership with representation as follows:

  • One member representing the City of Moorhead
  • Three members representing other incorporated areas
  • One member from Oakport Township or At Large
  • One member from Moorhead Township or At Large
  • One County Commissioner
  • One member from Soil and Water Conservation
  • Three members representing rural areas

Members serve 3-year terms, are elected by the County Board of Commissioners, and may serve up to 3 terms.

Current Members

  • David Steichen, Incorporated Area
  • Ashley Heng, Rural Clay County
  • Jenny Mongeau / County Commissioner
  • Kurt Skjerven, Oakport Township
  • Sebastian McDougall, City of Moorhead
  • Curt Stubstad, Rural Clay County
  • Brad Eldred, Incorporated Area
  • Joel Hildlebrandt, Vice-Chair, Soil & Water Conservation District
  • Laura Johnson, Secretary, Rural Clay County
  • Ezra Baer, Chairperson
  • Brent Berg, Incorporated Area

Public Hearing Requests

The Planning Commission holds public hearings for requests for:

  • Conditional Use Permits
  • Interim Ordinances
  • Ordinance Changes / Amendments
  • Platted Subdivisions
  • Rezoning
  • Single Lot Subdivisions (that cannot be approved administratively)
The Planning Director acts as an advisor on matters relating to the granting of permits. Single lot subdivisions that meet the requirements in the Land Development Ordinance may be approved by the Planning Director. The commission and director operate under the guidelines of Minnesota Statute 394.30 ; and under the guidelines of the Clay County Comprehensive Plan and Land Development Ordinance. 

Notice of Public Hearing 

Public hearings are advertised in the legal county paper (rotates annually between the Hawley Herald, Barnesville Record Review, and Ulen Union) at least 10 days before the hearing; as well as in the legal section of The Forum.
Property owners within 1/2 mile of the area of the request are notified of a public hearing by mail. 

Meeting Conduct 

Meetings are conducted in accordance with Robert's Rules and the Clay County Planning Commission Bylaws and Rules of Procedure, last revised in 2006. The applicant or authorized agent shall be present at the public hearing. All meetings are open to the general public.