- Finance & Records
- Vital Records
- Marriage License
Applications for a marriage license are accepted between the hours of 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. at the Clay County Government Center at 3510 12th Avenue South in Moorhead. No appointment is needed.
Applicants must apply in person and present proof of age. Proof of age is established by one of the following:
- Certified copy of a birth certificate
- Driver’s license or other identification card issued by a government entity
- A school record, immigration record, naturalization record, court record, or other document or record issued by a government entity that contains the date of birth of a party
The marriage license application can be filled out online. The application does NOT need to be printed by the applicants. Signatures will be done in person at the time of completion and payment in the Recorder’s Office. Applicants must appear in person to complete the application process within 90 days. If one of the applicants cannot appear in person, please contact the Recorder’s Office to discuss your options.
If either person has had a previous marriage, termination type (death, divorce or annulment), the date, city, state, and county of termination must be provided on the application.
Both applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
Applicants requesting a name change that have a felony conviction on or after August 1, 2000 are subject to a 30 day waiting period. Additional paperwork will be required.
A $115 Marriage License fee or a $40 Reduced Marriage License fee with an Educator’s Statement (PDF). Payment can be made with cash, check or credit card. A $1.95 fee will be charged to use a credit card.
Once the license is issued, it is valid for six months and must be used in the state of Minnesota.
No blood tests are required.
No Refunds are issued.
If a replacement Marriage License needs to be issued, there is a $25 replacement fee.
Reduced Marriage License Fee
The Marriage License fee for applicants who have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education is $40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee the applicants must submit, at the time of applying for the marriage license, a signed, dated and notarized (or church seal) Educator's Statement (PDF) from the person who provided the premarital education on their letterhead confirming the education was received.
The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, Section 517.18 or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, Section 148B.33. The education must include the use of premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.
Name Change Information
Once you have received the Certified Marriage Certificate in the mail, if a name change was requested on the application, your passport, driver’s license and Social Security card will need to be changed. You can obtain the "Application for a Social Security Card" (Form SS-5) by visiting the Social Security website. Contact the local Social Security Office by calling 877-335-4114 or visiting the Federal Building at:
657 N. 2nd Avenue
Fargo, ND 58102