Tobacco Compliance / Licensing

A Tobacco License is required for all establishments in Clay County who are selling tobacco products or tobacco-related devices. The license must be renewed each year. The fee for a Tobacco Sales License is set by each jurisdiction.

Licensing Procedure

In mid-November each year a letter will be sent out to those establishments that currently hold a Tobacco Sales License under Clay County Public Health.* Enclosed with the letter is a tobacco renewal application. The renewal application must be fully and completely filled out and returned to Clay County Public Health, along with a $200 license fee by December 31 each year.

After receiving the tobacco renewal application and check, a Tobacco Sales License will be completed and sent back to the establishment.

Establishments having questions or new establishments in Clay County's jurisdiction* wishing to apply for a tobacco license may contact Clay County Public Health by calling 218-299-5220.

Eligible Counties

*The communities licensed through Clay County are:

  • Comstock
  • Georgetown
  • Glyndon
  • Hawley
  • Rollag
  • Sabin

The following communities issue licenses through their city offices:

  • Barnesville
  • Dilworth
  • Felton
  • Hitterdal
  • Moorhead
  • Ulen