Red River Valley SWAT Team

A regional SWAT Team comprised of officers from the Clay County Sheriff's Office, Cass County Sheriff's Office, Fargo Police Department, Moorhead Police Department, West Fargo Police Department, and North Dakota State University has approximately 28 tactical members.


The Team also has 4 snipers, several negotiators, a complete tactical medical team, and a federal certified bomb squad. Two deputies are assigned as tactical operators and 1 as a bomb tech to the Red River Valley SWAT Team. SWAT candidates must complete a rigorous physical agility test, background check and interview. The Clay County Sheriff's Office also holds a negotiator slot within the SWAT Team.


This specialized unit deploys for a number of assignments including search warrants, arrest warrants of dangerous suspects, building or rural searches for suspects or missing persons, and hostage situations. SWAT Team members are highly qualified in the use of special weapons, tactics and equipment and are called out to respond to situations as the need arises in the Red River Valley and a good portion of Eastern North Dakota.