The Minnesota Merit System

Clay County Social Services hires staff through the Minnesota Merit System (Merit System). The Merit System conducts civil service examinations and provides a hiring base for 73 of Minnesota's 87 counties. If you have questions regarding the Merit System and Clay County Social Services, please contact us at 218-299-5200.

Clay County Social Services

On an ongoing basis, Clay County Social Services may have various positions open for employment. When a vacancy occurs, the eligible register for the related classification is requested from the Merit System. It is the exception that a position is advertised and time for testing is offered. Therefore, we encourage anyone interested in being considered for any position within Clay County Social Services to register and test for that classification in preparation for future openings. Many of the positions require a written test which is offered at various testing sites throughout the state.

Minnesota Merit System Information

Merit System Classifications Currently Utilized at Clay County Social Services

Agency Wide

  • Human Services Director IV
  • Office Services Supervisor
  • Office Support Specialist

Financial Services Unit

  • Eligibility Worker (formerly Financial Worker)
  • Financial Assistance Supervisor II
  • Lead Eligibility Worker (formerly Financial Assistance Specialist)

Child Support, Fraud & Collections Unit

  • Child Support Officer
  • Child Support Supervisor II (formerly Collection Services Supervisor II)
  • Collections Officer
  • Support Enforcement Aide
  • Welfare Fraud Investigator

Social Services

  • Case Aide
  • County Agency Social Worker
  • County Agency Social Worker (Child Protection Specialist)
  • Social Services Supervisor